Complete List of Margaret Millar eBooks Published

We're over half-way through issuing the complete works of Margaret Millar as eBooks. Below is a handy visual guide to what's available now. Click through each cover for more title information in the Syndicate Bookstore

All eBook covers by Jeff Wong.

Announcing New Stand-Alone Trade Paperbacks for BEAST IN VIEW and A STRANGER IN MY GRAVE

Syndicate is thrilled to announce that we're issuing stand-alone trades for several of Margaret Millar's classic works of suspense. This is a perfect way for new readers to discover the MWA Grandmaster's brilliant work and also get a print copy of artist Jeff Wong's excellent covers. 

In February we're publishing the Edgar Award for Best Novel-winning BEAST IN VIEW and following that in April with the cunningly plotted A STRANGER IN MY GRAVE. More stand-alones will follow. Stay tuned for those announcements. 

Publishes on February 6th, 2018

BEAST IN VIEW by Margaret Millar (Trade Paperback)

Buy in Paperback Here or from Preferred Retailers:


Hailed as one of the greatest psychological mysteries ever written and winner of the 1956 Mystery Writers of America Edgar Award for Best Novel, Beast in View remains as freshly sinister today as the day it was first published.  

Thirty-year-old Helen Clarvoe is scared and all alone. The heiress of a small fortune, she is resented by her mother and, to a lesser degree, her brother. The only person who seemingly cares for her is the family’s attorney, Paul Blackshear. A shut-in, Helen maintains her residence in an upscale hotel downtown. 

But passive-aggressive resentment isn’t the only thing hounding Helen Clarvoe. A string of bizarre and sometimes threatening prank phone calls has upended her spinster’s routine. Increasingly threatened, she turns to a reluctant Mr. Blackshear to get to the bottom of these strange calls. Blackshear is doubtful of their seriousness but he quickly realizes that he is in the midst of something far more sinister than he thought possible. As he unravels the mystery of the calls the identity behind them slowly emerges, predatory and treacherous.

Add To Cart

Publishes on April 3rd, 2018

A STRANGER IN MY GRAVE by Margaret Millar (Trade Paperback)

Buy in Paperback Here or from Preferred Retailers:


Young housewife Daisy Harker’s world is upended when a blank spot in her memory and a reoccurring nightmare link her to an unsolved murder and a decades-old conspiracy

Jim and Daisy Harker are a young, well-to-do couple in San Felice, California, and though childless they maintain the sort of domestic happiness that others can only aspire to. But a darkness exists at the outer edges of Daisy’s mind and she has no idea why it’s there. In a series of reoccurring nightmares she wanders a cemetery, eventually finding her own gravestone. According to the dream, December 2nd, 1955 is the day she died.  

Street smart but honorable, Stevens Pinata is a man with his own mysteries. An orphan left on a church doorstep as a child, he isn’t even certain of his ethnicity, let alone his goals in life. As a private investigator he works with bail bonds and quick shakedowns. But when a pretty young woman like Daisy Harker comes into his office with a crazy request to “find her lost day” he is intrigued. He is too decent to take advantage of a crazy woman, but Mr. Harker is a wealthy man and who is Pinata to turn down money?

What unfolds is a masterpiece of suspense and one of the books that forever changed the domestic thriller. Millar’s razor sharp prose cuts a masterful plot and slashes at the racism, sexism, and entitlement endemic to an era otherwise celebrated for its prosperity.

Give the Gift of Maggie for the Holidays

Subscribe yourself or order a set for a friend — the first three volumes of COLLECTED MILLAR will arrive in time for the holidays on all domestic orders made by end of day on 12/18.

99.99 123.99

Complete in Seven-Volumes

Preorder the complete writings of MWA Grandmaster Margaret Millar and receive each book one month before its on sale date.

This handsome paperback set represents the first ever complete accounting of the life's work of one of the 20th century's most important suspense writers. Order now and receive one book every two months. Order at any point later and you'll receive all released volumes and then the rest as they publish.

In DECEMBER Receive:

Collected Millar: The Master at Her Zenith

Introduction by Tom Nolan

Vanish in an Instant (1952)
Wives and Lovers (1954)
Beast in View (1955)
An Air That Kills (1957)
The Listening Walls (1959)

Collected Millar: Legendary Novels of Suspense

A Stranger in My Grave (1960)
How Like an Angel (1962)
The Fiend (1964)
Beyond This Point Are Monsters (1970)

Collected Millar: The Tom Aragon Novels

Ask for Me Tomorrow (1976)
The Murder of Miranda (1979)
Mermaid (1982)

In FEBRUARY (2017) Receive:

Collected Millar: Dawn of Domestic Suspense

Fire Will Freeze (1944)
Experiment in Springtime (1947)
The Cannibal Heart (1949)
Do Evil in Return (1950)
Rose's Last Summer (1952)

In APRIL (2017) Receive:

Collected Millar: The First Detectives

The Paul Prye Mysteries

The Invisible Worm (1941)
The Weak-Eyed Bat (1942)
The Devil Loves Me (1942)

Inspector Sands Mysteries

Wall of Eyes (1943)
The Iron Gates (1945)

In JULY (2017) Receive:

Collected Millar: First Things, Last Things

Banshee (1983)
Spider Webs (1986)
It’s All in the Family (1948)
Collected Short Fiction



The Birds and Beasts Were There

Add To Cart